NOTE!: This website would soon be depreciated and won't be updated


The full list of Premier League winners since the competition began in 1992
Posted by  badge Boss on May 17, 2023 - 01:30PM
The Premier League is steeped in history (Picture: Michael Regan/Getty Images)

The trophy looks to be returning to the North West for the 2022/23 season, with from retaining the title at the expense of .

City’s impending victory will see their name added to the Premier League roll of honour in what is the 30th anniversary season of the .

And so with more history set to be made, let’s take a look at the full list of previous winners in the Premier League.

Which clubs have won the Premier League?

Since the Premier League was formed, seven different clubs have won the title.

are the most successful club in the competition’s history with 13 Premier League titles to their name.

Manchester United are the Premier League kings (Picture: Tom Jenkins/Getty Images)

United won the first two editions of the Premier League in 1992/93 and 1993/94, and they then went on to win eight of the first 11 seasons as they dominated throughout the 1990s and the early 2000s.

Their last title triumph arrived in 2012/13, which was ’s final season in the Old Trafford hot seat.

Noisy neighbours are the second most decorated team in the Premier League with six titles.

Their first came in the most dramatic of circumstances, with Sergio Aguero scoring a last minute goal in the final game of the 2011/12 season to wrestle the title away from United’s clutches on goal difference.

The biggest winning margin in Premier League history is the 19 points ’s men finished ahead of Manchester United in 2017/18.

City have won the last two titles and look set to make it a hat-trick of wins this time around – a feat matched only twice by Manchester United.

, meanwhile, have lifted the trophy five times under , Carlo Ancelotti and Antonio Conte.

Premier League winners year-by-year

  • 2021/22 Manchester City
  • 2020/21 Manchester City
  • 2019/20 Liverpool
  • 2018/19 Manchester City
  • 2017/18 Manchester City
  • 2016/17 Chelsea
  • 2015/16 Leicester City
  • 2014/15 Chelsea
  • 2013/14 Manchester City
  • 2012/13 Manchester United
  • 2011/12 Manchester City
  • 2010/11 Manchester United
  • 2009/10 Chelsea
  • 2008/09 Manchester United
  • 2007/08 Manchester United
  • 2006/07 Manchester United
  • 2005/06 Chelsea
  • 2004/05 Chelsea
  • 2003/04 Arsenal
  • 2002/03 Manchester United
  • 2001/02 Arsenal
  • 2000/01 Manchester United
  • 1999/00 Manchester United
  • 1998/99 Manchester United
  • 1997/98 Arsenal
  • 1996/97 Manchester United
  • 1995/96 Manchester United
  • 1994/95 Blackburn Rovers
  • 1993/94 Manchester United
  • 1992/93 Manchester United

guided to three titles around the turn of the millenium, with their victory in 2003/04 the only time a team has won the Premier League without losing a single game.

The Premier League awarded Arsenal a golden league trophy in recognition of their incredible invincible campaign.

finally clinched their first Premier League title in 2019/20 with 99 points under Jurgen Klopp, whilst Blackburn Rovers were surprise winners of the competition in 1994/95 with the help of striker Alan Shearer and manager Kenny Dalglish.

But perhaps the most incredible moment in Premier League history was when stunned the football world to win in 2015/2016.

Having only narrowly avoided relegation the previous season, Claudio Ranieri led the 5000-1 Foxes to the league title, finishing 10 points ahead of second-placed Arsenal with stars such as N’Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez.

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, and

Share your views in the comments below

Drop Your Comment ()